Divisions of English Grammar

There are five great divisions of English Grammar:

1. Orthography

2. Etymology

3. Syntax

4. Punctuation

5. Prosody


Orthography is the marks used for letters and the mode of combining them into words.


Etymology is the marks used by the various classes of words and the changes they undergo.


The syntax is the marks used for the connection and arrangement of words in sentences.


Punctuations are the marks used in writing to separate sentences and their elements and to clarify meaning. They are such as full stop, commas, and brackets.


Prosody is the marks used in the manner of speaking and reading and the different kinds of verse.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *